Tag Archives: Cascade Chapter Sierra Club

Cascade Chapter Sierra Club Urges No Vote on Initiative 1053

The Cascade Chapter of the Sierra Club has come out against Initiative 1053.  This is Tim Eyman’s 2010 initiative trying to impose a 2/3 vote requirement for Washington State Legislators to pass revenue measures and close special interest tax exemptions.

The measure is unconstitutional. An initiative can not amend the Washington State Constitution. Article II, Section 22 of the Washington State Constitution says the Legislature shall pass legislation by a majority vote. Only a constitutional amendment can change the constitution.

Here is the Sierra Club’s rationale for opposing I-1053.

Initiative 1053 is Tim Eyman’s latest bad idea that will cripple state government by allowing minority rule. The measure would require a supermajority on all revenue measures, such as increases in levies on toxic run-off from oil and other hazardous substances. In fact BP and their Big Oil friends have ponied up big to Tim Eyman to ensure that they can continue to pollute without paying to cleanup their mess. To add insult to injury, this measures also allows a minority to block closing tax loopholes to polluters.

In order for our government to function, the legislature needs to be able to ensure that polluters pay, and that we are able to invest in cleaning up our air and water. Just Say No to Initiative 1053.

You can go to the Sierra Club’s website to see their endorsements for candidates for the November election. They also are supporting Referendum 52.

Cascade Chapter Sierra Club 2010 Endorsements

Below is the list of 2010 Political Endorsements made by the Washington State  Cascade Chapter of the Sierra Club

National Position Name

All WA districts U.S. Senator Patty Murray

WA – C1 U.S. Representative Jay Inslee

WA – C2 U.S. Representative Rick Larsen

WA – C3 U.S. Representative Denny Heck

WA – C6 U.S. Representative Norm Dicks

WA – C7 U.S. Representative Jim McDermott

WA – C9 U.S. Representative Adam Smith

State Position Name

All districts Referendum: Vote YES Referendum 52

WA – 02 State Representative #2 Tom Campbell

WA – 03 State Representative #1 Timm Ormsby

WA – 17 State Representative #1 Tim Probst

WA – 17 State Representative #2 Monica Stonier

WA – 18 State Representative #1 Dennis Kampe

WA – 21 State Representative #1 Marko Liias

WA – 22 State Representative #1 Sam Hunt

WA – 22 State Representative #1 Stewart Henderson

WA – 23 State Representative #1 Christine Rolfes

WA – 23 State Representative #1 Sherry Appleton

WA – 25 State Representative #2 Dawn Morrell

WA – 26 State Representative #1 Sumner Schoenike

WA – 26 State Representative #2 Larry Seaquist

WA – 26 State Senator Derek Kilmer

WA – 27 State Representative #1 Jake Fey

WA – 27 State Representative #2 Jeannie Darneille

WA – 28 State Representative #1 Tami Green

WA – 29 State Representative #1 Connie Ladenburg

WA – 29 State Senator Steve Conway

WA – 31 State Senator Ron Weigelt

WA – 32 State Representative #1 Cindy Ryu

WA – 32 State Representative #1 Ruth Kagi

WA – 33 State Representative #1 Dave Upthegrove

WA – 34 State Representative #1 Sharon Nelson

WA – 34 State Representative #2 Joe Fitzgibbon

WA – 36 State Representative #1 Reuven Carlyle

WA – 36 State Senator Jeanne Kohl-Welles

WA – 37 State Senator Adam Kline

WA – 38 State Representative #1 John McCoy

WA – 43 State Representative #1 Jamie Pedersen

WA – 43 State Representative #2 Frank Chopp

WA – 43 State Senator Ed Murray

WA – 44 State Representative #1 Hans Dunshee

WA – 44 State Senator Lillian Kaufer

WA – 45 State Senator Eric Oemig

WA – 46 State Representative #1 David Frockt

WA – 47 State Representative #1 Geoff Simpson

WA – 47 State Senator Claudia Kauffman

WA – 48 State Representative #1 Ross Hunter

WA – 49 State Representative #1 Jim Jacks

WA – 49 State Representative #2 Jim Moeller

County Position Name

King Conservation Board Max Prinsen

Pierce County Council Betty Ringlee (D), District 7

Pierce County Council Rick Talbert

Thurston County Commission #3 Karen Valenzuela